Introduction

Screen Layout

GNS3 Toolbar

First GNS3 Toolbar Group:

New Blank project

Open Project

Save Project

Second GNS3 Toolbar Group

Manage Snapshot

Show/Hide interface labels

Console connect to all devices

Last updated
December 5, 2016

Contributors
David Bombal
Julien Duponchelle
Ricar Ganancial
Edit this Article
Last updated
December 5, 2016

Contributors
David Bombal
Julien Duponchelle
Ricar Ganancial
Edit this Article

GNS3 Windows Install


GNS3 Graphical User Interface

Introduction

This document explains various options in the GNS3 Graphical User Interface (GUI) which help you create and manage GNS3 projects.

Note

This guide applies to both the Local Server and GNS3 VM installations. Both installation options use the same user interface for the management of projects.

               

Screen Layout

The following figure shows a screenshot of the version 1.5 GNS GUI:

GNS3 Toolbar

The GNS3 toolbar found at the top of the GNS3 GUI, contains groups of icons that allow you to easily perform common tasks.

                                                             

The toolbar groups icons into specific functions or features. This gives you a simple way of getting things done.

First GNS3 Toolbar Group:

The first group allows you to create, open and save projects:

                                            

New Blank project

Click the New Blank Project button to create a new project in GNS3. You will be asked for your new project name and folder to save the new project.

To create a new GNS3 project, click the New Blank Project button on the GNS3 Toolbar:

     

If you have devices running, GNS3 will warn you to shut them down before opening an  existing object:

       

                                                        

If you have an unsaved project currently opened, GNS3 will remind you to save It so you don’t lose your changes:

                                                    

GNS3 will prompt you for the Name and Location of your new project.The default name is untitled and default location C:\Users\<username>\GNS3 in  Windows: 

                                              

Give your project a name, change the location if desired and click OK

     

                                 

A new project is opened:    

Open Project

Click the Open Project button to open an existing GNS3 project. You will be asked for your new project name and folder to save the new project.

To Open an existing project, click the Open Project button on the GNS3 Toolbar:                                                    

                                                             

An Open project window will display. Navigate to the GNS3 projects folder. By   default this is C:\Users\<username>\GNS3 in Windows:

                                

         

Select the project file and click then Open

         

Note

Project files use the .gns3 extension. For example, in the above figure, the name is: ospf-1.gns3.                   

                             

                               

If you have devices running, GNS3 will warn you to shut them down before opening an existing project:

                                                   

If you have an unsaved project currently opened,  GNS3 will remind you to  save it so you don't lose your changes:

                           

                                                 

The project is opened with all devices turned off:

Save Project

Click the Save Project button to save your GNS3 project. This will save  your entire GNS3 project.

                                                                  

To save your project, click the Save Project button on the GNS3 Toolbar:               

                                                     

A saved message will display on the GNS3 GUI:                               

         

Important

If you want your router configurations saved, make sure you save them via the router CLI before you save the GNS3 project

                                     

Use either the copy running-config saved-config command or the  wr command to save your router configurations:    

Once you have saved your router configurations, you can click the Save Project button to save your project:

                             

   

Second GNS3 Toolbar Group

The second GNS3 Toolbar Group allows you to create project snapshots, show or hide interface labels and connect to device consoles:

   

                                             

             

Manage Snapshot

Click the Snapshot button to create a snapshot of your devices, links and IOS configurations. Snapshots in GNS3 are similar to snapshots in other systems such as VMware which allow you to create a saved version of your project at a specific point in time. You can then revert back to this later.

Important

If you want your router configurations saved, make sure you save them via the router CLI before you save the GNS3 project.

Show/Hide interface labels

Click the Show/Hide interface labels button to display or hide interface labels in your GNS3 projects. The button will toggle the displaying or hiding of abbreviated interface names. For example interface FastEthernet 0/0 is displayed as f0/0 in GNS3.

Default By default, interface labels are hidden.

To display interface labels click the Show/Hide interface labels button on the GNS3 Toolbar:  

                   

                                         

Result Interface labels are displayed in devices in the workspace. The button also displays as depressed:

                                           

                               

     

 

Click the Show/Hide interface labels button again to hide the labels.                                       

                                     

                                             

                                                                            

Console connect to all devices